Switzerland: ProKilowatt, its two routes, and the exclusion a monitoring vendor has to read
Switzerland is the thinnest page in this series, and deliberately so. The federal route is real but awkward for a single plant, one exclusion sits uncomfortably close to our product category, and the cantonal layer was not researched.
Two routes, and only one of them is for a single factory
ProKilowatt is the Swiss Federal Office of Energy's competitive tender instrument for electricity-efficiency measures. It runs on two tracks, and they are not interchangeable.
- Programme route (Programme): maximum 30% of investment costs, with a size band of CHF 150,000 to CHF 3,000,000 per programme. The 2026 programme deadline was 1 May 2026; the budget was at least CHF 30 million. Programmes are applied for by engineering firms, industry associations and similar bodies that then run the scheme for many participants — not by an individual factory for its own site.
- Project route (Projekte): up to CHF 6 million per application, with a submission window from 3 November 2025 to 1 November 2026. This is the route a single site uses.
- Overall budget: the SFOE page gives CHF 70 million a year across the instrument.
The exclusion that matters for a monitoring project
The 2026 programme conditions document, as read on 22 September 2026, excludes a specific list of measures. Four of the five are unambiguous. The fifth is the one to read carefully.
- Lighting measures.
- New-build and replacement buildings.
- “Systems management” installation — Leittechnik and building-automation installation.
- Fuel substitution with non-renewable energy.
- Measures already implemented before approval.
The last exclusion on the list — measures already implemented before approval — is the ordinary trap. It applies in every country in this series and it catches the same people every time: a plant that has already ordered the hardware, or has a signed contract, and then looks for a grant. The order of operations is application, approval, purchase order. Not the reverse.
What we did not research, and will not pretend to have
This is a genuine gap in the underlying study, stated here rather than papered over.
- Cantonal energy programmes were not researched at all. Swiss cantonal energy funding varies materially — Zurich, Bern, Vaud and Geneva each run their own. For many industrial sites the cantonal programme is larger and easier to reach than the federal tender. Start with your canton's energy office, not with Bern.
- The CO₂-levy exemption and target-agreement route via act and EnAW was not researched. It is a different mechanism — relief against a levy in exchange for a binding reduction target, rather than a grant — and for an energy-intensive site it can be worth more than a subsidy. It also generates a measurement obligation, which is where metering becomes a cost of compliance rather than a discretionary project.
- Klimastiftung Schweiz states that it supports Swiss and Liechtenstein SMEs with contributions of roughly CHF 3 million a year in total, and CHF 23 million granted for innovation projects since 2008. The page read gave no per-project maximum, no eligibility detail and no 2026 deadline. Treat it as a possible avenue to investigate, not a quantified route.
Switzerland compared with its neighbours
| Programme | What it funds | Rate | Ceiling | Status 22 Sep 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ProKilowatt — Programme (CH) | Electricity-efficiency measures run as a scheme by an engineering firm or association | max 30% of investment costs | CHF 150,000 – CHF 3,000,000 per programme | 2026 deadline was 1 May 2026; budget at least CHF 30m |
| ProKilowatt — Projekte (CH) | Electricity-efficiency measures at a single site | Not stated on the SFOE page | up to CHF 6m per application | Submission window 3 Nov 2025 – 1 Nov 2026 |
| Klimastiftung Schweiz | SME climate and innovation projects | Not stated | Not stated | Active; no 2026 deadline on the page read |
| Cantonal energy programmes | Varies by canton | Not researched | Not researched | Not researched — a real gap in this study |
| EEW Modul 3 (DE, for comparison) | EnMS software, sensors, MSR technology, installation, training | 45% small / 35% medium / 25% large | €20m per applicant | Open |
| UFI Energiesparmaßnahmen (AT, for comparison) | Industrial efficiency measures including MSR technology | 15–30% by size and project value | Investment €10,000 to under €1.0m | Open |
Sources: bfe.admin.ch ProKilowatt page, the 2026 ProKilowatt programme conditions document (pubdb.bfe.admin.ch), klimastiftung.ch, BAFA and umweltfoerderung.at, all read 22 September 2026. Amounts are given in the currency each source publishes; no exchange rate has been applied.
What a monitoring project can and cannot get funded here
- Can, in principle: a site-level electricity-efficiency project through the ProKilowatt project route, if it fits the tender criteria and the submission lands inside the window that closes 1 November 2026.
- Can, indirectly: participation in a ProKilowatt programme that an association or engineering firm has already had approved. This is usually the practical route for an individual plant, because the programme route is not designed for single applicants. Ask your industry association what it already runs.
- Uncertain: anything that could be read as Leittechnik or building-automation installation. The exclusion is in the conditions document; its exact reach is not settled by what we read.
- Cannot: anything already ordered or installed before approval.
- Unknown: the cantonal picture. It is the first thing to check and the thing this page cannot tell you.
The order to work in
- Call the cantonal energy office first. It is the layer most likely to fund a mid-size industrial measure and the layer this study does not cover.
- Ask your industry association about existing ProKilowatt programmes. Joining an approved programme is faster than launching a tender application.
- If the site is energy-intensive, price the target-agreement route against the grant route before choosing. Levy relief and a grant are not the same kind of money.
- Get the “systems management” exclusion clarified in writing before you assume the control layer is eligible.
- Do not sign the purchase order until you have approval. Prior implementation is an explicit exclusion.
One sheet per country with the rate, the caps and the status, an eligibility checklist, and a budget model that applies the cap for you. Excel, no macros.
- Western Europe funding hub
- Germany: EEW Modul 3 and the Digitalbonus
- Austria: UFI Energiesparmaßnahmen and the MSR condition
- Belgium: the 40% deduction and the digital 20% trap
- Funding stack calculator: net cost after grant
Questions
- What percentage does ProKilowatt pay?
- It depends which route, and one of the two is not published. The programme-route conditions document gives a maximum of 30% of investment costs, with programmes sized between CHF 150,000 and CHF 3,000,000. The SFOE page for the project route gives a ceiling of CHF 6 million per application and an annual budget of CHF 70 million, but no percentage. Do not carry the 30% across to a project application without confirming it.
- Can a single factory apply to ProKilowatt directly?
- Through the project route, yes, with a submission window running from 3 November 2025 to 1 November 2026. The programme route is applied for by engineering firms and industry associations that run a scheme for many participants, not by an individual plant for its own site. For many factories the practical route is to join a programme that an association already has approved.
- Does the systems-management exclusion rule out a monitoring system?
- Not established. The 2026 programme conditions document, as read on 22 September 2026, excludes systems-management installation, meaning Leittechnik and building automation. How far that reaches into a metering and control layer is not settled by the text we read. Confirm the wording in the German original, and get the SFOE's view in writing if the project depends on it.
- What about cantonal funding?
- It was not researched for this study, and that is a real gap. Swiss cantonal energy programmes vary materially between cantons such as Zurich, Bern, Vaud and Geneva, and for a mid-size industrial measure the cantonal scheme is often the larger and more accessible one. Start with your canton's energy office before working on a federal tender.
- Is there a Swiss equivalent of Germany's EEW Modul 3?
- Not one we found. EEW Modul 3 names energy-management software, sensors, analogue-digital converters and control technology as eligible costs at 25 to 45%. No Swiss federal scheme we read names that equipment category in the same way. ProKilowatt funds electricity-efficiency measures without itemising metering hardware and software, and it excludes systems-management installation.
Sources
- Swiss Federal Office of Energy — ProKilowatt competitive calls for tenders (read 22 Sep 2026)
- SFOE — ProKilowatt 2026 programme conditions document (pubdb.bfe.admin.ch)
- Klimastiftung Schweiz — programme overview (read 22 Sep 2026)
- BAFA — EEW Modul 3, used for the comparison row (read 22 Sep 2026)
- Umweltförderung im Inland — Infoblatt Energiesparmaßnahmen 04/2026, used for the comparison row
Published by TEEPTRAK SAS, which makes production-monitoring and OEE software. Every figure is sourced on the page. Funding rules, standards and reporting duties change: check the official documents before you budget or commit.