Belgium: the 40% energy deduction works, the 20% digital deduction does not apply to you
Belgium has two federal investment deductions that sound equally relevant to a monitoring project. Only one of them is. The regional layer then adds three more traps, two in Flanders and none in Wallonia.
Federal: two deductions, and only one fits
The Belgian investeringsaftrek (investment deduction) lets a company deduct a percentage of an investment's value from taxable profit, on top of depreciation. Three variants matter here, and choosing wrongly costs half the benefit.
- Basisaftrek, small enterprises: 10% (not indexed). The fallback.
- Verhoogde thematische aftrek: 40%. For 2025 investments (assessment year 2026): 40% for SMEs and the self-employed, 30% for large companies. For 2026 investments (assessment year 2027): 40% for all companies. Categories include energy efficiency, renewable energy, carbon-free transport and environmental investments. Minimum investment €1,000.
- Verhoogde basisaftrek for digital investments: 20%. Four categories: digital payment and invoicing systems; ICT security, including monitoring tools and data-management compliance; accounting and financial management; customer acquisition and CRM. Minimum investment €1,000.
The thematic 40% deduction carries a condition the digital track does not: a regional certificate attesting that the investment qualifies. That certificate is issued by the region — Flanders, Wallonia or Brussels — which means a federal tax benefit depends on a regional file. Budget time for it. The claim itself goes on form 275U for companies or 276U for the self-employed, with the eligibility certificate attached.
Flanders: three schemes, three reasons they may not help
GREEN investeringssteun pays 30–40% for SMEs and 20–30% for large companies on energy-efficiency investments, by eco-class; renewable energy draws 45–55% SME and 35–45% large, electrification 30–40% and 20–30%. Eligible costs are engineering, investments and installation costs from third parties; pre-study costs, infrastructure works, internal costs and operational costs are explicitly excluded. Minimum investment €50,000, maximum aid €1 million per company over three years. Two things to note: a typical metering project may not reach €50,000 on its own, and measuring, monitoring and control systems and software are not named among the eligible items on the VLAIO page setting out costs and rates.
Ecologiepremie+ runs on a Limitatieve Technologieënlijst — a closed list of 27 technologies across cooling, transport, heat, water and miscellaneous. Applications are rolling, with a maximum of €1 million per enterprise over three years. No metering or monitoring technology appears on the list as read. A closed list is a hard boundary: if the technology is not on it, no argument gets it funded. Rates vary by technology and company size and were not stated on the pages read. Installation costs are excluded unless specified for a given technology.
Strategische ecologiesteun (STRES) requires a minimum investment of €1.5 million, caps aid at €500,000 per enterprise per three years, and supports 20–55% of the approved additional cost — for energy efficiency, 40% SME eco-class A, 30% SME class B, 30% large class A, 20% large class B. It is out of range for a project in the €30,000–€300,000 band.
One Flemish instrument survives this intact. The Vergroeningsscan has the company pay only 15% of the cost of a technical and economic feasibility assessment, with VLAIO covering 85%, delivered by twelve selected advisory bureaus under de minimis (€300,000 over three years). If you need a defensible energy baseline before committing capital, that is the cheapest way in Flanders to get one.
Wallonia: chèques, and they are the most usable money in Belgium
Wallonia's chèques-entreprises fund the work of labelled service providers, not equipment purchases. All maxima run over a rolling three-year period and are quoted excluding VAT.
- Chèque Maturité numérique: 50%, maximum €50,000. Professional assistance to assess and improve digital processes. Open to SMEs and the self-employed with their main office in Wallonia and fewer than 250 employees.
- Chèque Cybersécurité: 75%, maximum €50,000.
- Chèques énergie, all at 75%: Audit global up to €8,000; Audit partiel up to €5,000; Audit de suivi annuel up to €2,000; Étude de faisabilité up to €5,000.
The combination that works in Wallonia is specific: a 75% energy audit to establish where the consumption sits, a 50% digital-maturity assignment to design the system around it, and the federal 40% thematic deduction on the capital itself once the regional certificate is in hand. None of those three pays for the licence directly. Together they cover most of the work around it.
The Belgian schemes side by side
| Programme | What it funds | Rate | Ceiling | Status 22 Sep 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal — verhoogde thematische investeringsaftrek | Energy efficiency, renewables, carbon-free transport, environmental investments | 40% SME / 30% large (AY2026); 40% for all on 2026 investments | min €1,000; regional certificate required | Open, permanent |
| Federal — verhoogde basisaftrek, digital investments | Digital payments and e-invoicing, ICT security, accounting, CRM | 20% | min €1,000 | Open — but does not cover production monitoring or MES |
| Flanders — GREEN investeringssteun | Energy efficiency, renewables, electrification; third-party engineering, investment and installation | 30–40% SME / 20–30% large (energy efficiency) | min €50,000 investment; max €1m per company per 3 years | Open — metering and control software not named as eligible |
| Flanders — Ecologiepremie+ | 27 technologies on a closed list (LTL) | Varies by technology; not stated on pages read | max €1m per enterprise per 3 years | Open, rolling — no metering or monitoring technology on the list |
| Flanders — kmo-portefeuille | Training (all themes) and advice (cybersecurity only) | 30% small / 20% medium; 45% / 35% energy and cyber | max €7,500 per year | Open but narrowed — digitalisation advice excluded from 1 Feb 2026 |
| Flanders — Vergroeningsscan | Technical and economic feasibility assessment by a selected bureau | Company pays 15%; VLAIO covers 85% | de minimis €300,000 per 3 years | Open |
| Wallonia — Chèque Maturité numérique | Assistance to assess and improve digital processes | 50% | max €50,000 excl. VAT over 3 years | Open |
| Wallonia — Chèques énergie | Audit global, audit partiel, annual follow-up audit, feasibility study | 75% | €8,000 / €5,000 / €2,000 / €5,000 | Open |
Sources: VLAIO subsidiedatabank (investeringsaftrek, last modified 1 September 2026), VLAIO GREEN, Ecologiepremie, STRES and kmo-portefeuille pages, and cheques-entreprises.be, all read 22 September 2026.
What a monitoring project can and cannot get funded here
- Can: claim the federal 40% thematic deduction on the capital cost, if the investment qualifies as energy efficiency and you obtain the regional certificate.
- Cannot: claim the 20% digital deduction for production monitoring or MES. Its four categories are payments and e-invoicing, ICT security, accounting, and CRM.
- Cannot: get Ecologiepremie+ for metering. The Limitatieve Technologieënlijst is closed and no metering or monitoring technology appears on it.
- Cannot: use kmo-portefeuille for consultancy on a digitalisation project since 1 February 2026, or for software licences and hardware at any time.
- Can: use kmo-portefeuille for the training that goes with a rollout, at 30–45%, within the €7,500 annual cap.
- Probably not: GREEN, unless the project clears €50,000 and sits inside an energy-efficiency measure whose eligible-cost list you have checked — metering and control software is not named on the page setting out accepted costs.
- Can, in Wallonia: 50% on the digital-maturity assignment and 75% on the energy audits that justify the project.
The audit thresholds are moving, and they move by region
A Belgian group with plants in two regions faces two different triggers and two different filing routes. In Flanders, a draft decree amending the Energiedecreet was submitted to the Flemish Parliament on 16 February 2026 (doc 700 (2025-2026) Nr. 1): an energy-management system at ≥85 TJ and an energy audit at ≥10 TJ — the audit threshold dropping from 50 TJ. Audits done inside an IED environmental management system or an energiebeleidsovereenkomst can satisfy the obligation under an “only once” principle. In Wallonia, the regime we could verify is still the décret of 26 May 2016 and the arrêté of 8 September 2016 — size-based, audit every four years covering at least 80%, with exemption via a certified EnMS or an accord de branche, and penalties of €250 a week rising to €20,000 after a year. Wallonia's transposition of the 2023 directive was not verified for this study.
One sheet per country with the rate, the caps and the status, an eligibility checklist, and a budget model that applies the cap for you. Excel, no macros.
- Western Europe funding hub
- Netherlands: EIA 40% and the missing monitoring code
- Germany: EEW Modul 3 and the Digitalbonus
- Switzerland: ProKilowatt routes and exclusions
- Funding stack calculator: net cost after grant
Questions
- Does the 20% digital investment deduction cover a production-monitoring system?
- Not on the categories as published. The four categories of the verhoogde basisaftrek for digital investments are digital payment and invoicing systems; ICT security, including security monitoring tools and data-management compliance; accounting and financial management; and customer acquisition and CRM. Production monitoring and MES do not obviously sit in any of them. The stronger route is the 40% thematic energy-efficiency deduction.
- What is the regional certificate for the 40% deduction?
- The verhoogde thematische investeringsaftrek requires a certificate from the region attesting that the investment qualifies for the category claimed, such as energy efficiency. It is issued by Flanders, Wallonia or Brussels, so a federal tax benefit depends on a regional file. The claim is then made on form 275U for companies or 276U for the self-employed, with the certificate attached.
- Can we use the kmo-portefeuille to pay a consultant to scope our monitoring project?
- No, not since 1 February 2026. From that date the kmo-portefeuille advice track is restricted to cybersecurity. Training across all themes, including digitalisation and sustainability, remains eligible at 30% for small and 20% for medium enterprises, with a 7,500 euro annual cap. The kmo-portefeuille has never covered software licences or hardware.
- Is metering eligible for the Flemish Ecologiepremie+?
- Not on the list as read on 22 September 2026. Ecologiepremie+ works from a Limitatieve Technologieënlijst of 27 technologies across cooling, transport, heat, water and miscellaneous, and no metering or monitoring technology appears on it. A closed list is a hard boundary: if the technology is not listed, it cannot be funded under that scheme.
- What is the best Belgian combination for a 150,000 euro monitoring project?
- On the evidence read: the federal 40% thematic deduction on the capital, once the regional certificate is obtained; in Wallonia, a 75% energy cheque to fund the audit that establishes the baseline and a 50% Maturité numérique cheque for the design work; in Flanders, the Vergroeningsscan at 15% of cost for the feasibility assessment and the kmo-portefeuille for operator training. Check the current call documentation before you commit; this is not grant advice.
Sources
- VLAIO subsidiedatabank — Investeringsaftrek (last modified 1 September 2026)
- VLAIO — GREEN investeringssteun: steunpercentage en aanvaarde kosten (read 22 Sep 2026)
- VLAIO — Energietransitie: steunmogelijkheden (last modified 4 August 2026)
- VLAIO — Ecologiepremie+ (last modified 2 July 2026)
- VLAIO — Strategische ecologiesteun (last modified 27 August 2026)
- VLAIO — kmo-portefeuille (read 22 Sep 2026)
- Chèques-entreprises Wallonie — catalogue des chèques (read 22 Sep 2026)
- Vlaams Parlement — ontwerp van decreet 700 (2025-2026) Nr. 1, 16 February 2026
Published by TEEPTRAK SAS, which makes production-monitoring and OEE software. Every figure is sourced on the page. Funding rules, standards and reporting duties change: check the official documents before you budget or commit.