Western Europe & Türkiye · Updated 22 September 2026
FactoryOptimizationAI
Funding · Finland, Denmark, Sweden · status 22 September 2026

Finland, Denmark and Sweden: money that only pays for measured savings

Finland is continuously open and rewards being inside an energy-efficiency agreement. Denmark calculates the grant from the saving itself. Sweden, for this use case, currently has nothing.

In shortFinland's Energiatuki is continuously open, funds energy-efficiency investments of EUR 10,000 to EUR 5,000,000, and pays 20% inside an energy-efficiency agreement or 25% through an ESCO against 15% without. Denmark's Erhvervspuljen calculates the grant at DKK 1,000 per tonne of CO2 or 20 øre per kWh saved. Sweden has no live national scheme for this; Klimatklivet's next open round is 22 February to 5 March 2027.
StatusStatus as of 22 September 2026. Read on Business Finland's Energiatuki page (updated 29 October 2025), the Danish state grant register statens-tilskudspuljer.dk, Virksomhedsguiden and Naturvårdsverket. Danish amounts are given in DKK as published; no currency conversion is applied. This is a summary, not grant advice, and the call documentation prevails.

Finland: Energiatuki, continuously open

Energiatuki is administered by Business Finland and runs as jatkuva haku, a continuous application with no 2026 deadline. The project calendar drives the application, not the reverse.

Project typeAid intensity
Renewable energy investmenttypically 15-30%
Energy efficiency, company inside an energiatehokkuussopimus20%
Energy efficiency delivered through an ESCO service25%
Energy efficiency without an agreement15%
Motiva-type energy audit, with agreement50%
Motiva-type energy audit, without agreement40%
In-depth survey40%

Business Finland Energiatuki page, updated 29 October 2025.

  • Project size: energy-efficiency investments EUR 10,000 to EUR 5,000,000; renewable-energy investments EUR 30,000 to EUR 5,000,000.
  • Open to companies and organisations of all sizes. Excluded: residential apartment buildings, farms, fishing companies and state-funded organisations.
  • The intensity gap is the commercial fact: 5 to 10 percentage points ride on whether you are a signatory to the energy-efficiency agreement, or have structured the work as an ESCO delivery.

Finland's energiatehokkuuslaki 1372/2025 entered force on 1 January 2026. Above 2,700 MWh/year a company owes an energy audit at least every four years plus an action plan that must be made publicly available. Above 23,600 MWh/year a certified energy management system is required, ISO 50001 or the national ETJ+. For newly qualifying companies the first audits fall due 11 October 2026 and the management system 11 October 2027. Consumption data goes to Energiavirasto by the end of 2026, then annually by the end of April.

Not verifiedThe Business Finland page does not itemise eligible costs. Whether metering and monitoring hardware and software qualify as a stand-alone energy-efficiency investment under Energiatuki is not established from the page read. It is a normal component of an efficiency project; it is not confirmed as a project in its own right. Ask Business Finland before assuming.

Denmark: Erhvervspuljen pays per kWh and per tonne

Erhvervspuljen supports non-public companies carrying out energy-saving projects, from a pool of roughly DKK 3.5 billion across 2020 to 2029. Its defining feature is how the grant is computed: DKK 1,000 per tonne of CO2 saved, or 20 øre per kWh saved, with a 1.25 priority multiplier for fossil-fuel conversions. Energistyrelsen targets a maximum case-handling time of eight weeks.

That formula is the whole Danish argument. The grant is a function of a number you have to produce and defend. A project that cannot state a saving in kWh or tonnes, with a method behind it, is not underfunded; it is unfundable. No measurement, no grant. Eligible costs per Virksomhedsguiden cover external advisory services, necessary installation components and labour.

DisputedAid intensity: 60% or 50%? statens-tilskudspuljer.dk, the Danish state grant register, says up to 60% of eligible costs. Virksomhedsguiden, the government business portal, says up to 50%. Both are official Danish government sources and they do not agree. The 2026 round calendar is also unresolved: the register states the pool reopens 2 March 2026 and in the same passage refers to closing no later than November 2025. Energistyrelsen's own site (ens.dk) could not be retrieved. Confirm both with Energistyrelsen before you plan a submission.

Denmark's own EnMS deadline has already passed

Denmark transposed the recast Energy Efficiency Directive with the sharpest dates in Europe. Under Bekendtgørelse nr. 1138 of 18 September 2025, in force 11 October 2025:

  • Above 85 TJ (three-year average, all energy carriers): a certified energy management system by 1 August 2026, which is 14 months ahead of the EU's 11 October 2027.
  • Above 10 TJ without a management system: an energisyn was due by 1 August 2025, then at least every four years.
  • Klimasyn: average annual CO2 above 570 tonnes means a climate audit by 1 August 2026, then every four years.
  • Certification against ISO 50001, ISO 14001 or equivalent, accredited by DANAK or an equivalent national body.
  • Reporting to Energistyrelsen through virk.dk: audit reports, action plans and key performance indicators.
  • Newly covered companies comply within 12 months.

On 22 September 2026 that first date is seven weeks in the past. If your Danish site is above 85 TJ and has no certified system, you are late, and the KPI filing makes the gap visible to the authority. The overlap with Erhvervspuljen is exact: the KPIs the regulation wants filed are the same production-normalised numbers the grant formula wants proven.

SMV:Digital: advice money, 9 to 16 November 2026

SMV:Digital reimburses advisory services only. The portal is explicit that advisory activity means analysis, preparation, planning or follow-up. Technology purchases, licences and implementation work are not eligible. It pays up to DKK 150,000 at 50% against a maximum eligible expense of DKK 300,000, dropping to a maximum of DKK 50,000 for cybersecurity, digital marketing and simple ERP. Applicants need at least two full-time equivalents and SME status.

The next round runs 9 November 2026 at 09:00 to 16 November 2026 at 23:55, with DKK 15 million supporting roughly 150 companies. Used correctly it pays for the diagnostic that produces the saving estimate Erhvervspuljen then wants. It will not pay for the software.

Sweden: the gap

Sweden is the weakest country in this study for this use case. No live national grant aimed at industrial digitalisation or energy monitoring was findable from Energimyndigheten's own pages on 22 September 2026. The open calls listed there were in energy preparedness, heavy-vehicle charging and academic research.

  • Klimatklivet: the 2026 open rounds are finished, the second having closed on 4 September 2026. The next open round is 22 February to 5 March 2027, given as preliminary on a page updated 27 August 2026.
  • It rests on Förordning (2015:517) and GBER 651/2014, Chapter 1 and Articles 36-41, 46-49, 56, 56a, 56b and 56c. De minimis awards are capped at EUR 300,000 over three years.
  • Energisteget and energikartläggningsstöd: both URLs returned 404 on 22 September 2026. Presumed discontinued, not confirmed.
  • The audit law is in transition: a new energikartläggning law was proposed to enter force 1 July 2026, but Energimyndigheten's own page, updated 25 August 2026, still says the 2014 law applies.

The three countries side by side

ProgrammeWhat it fundsRateCeilingStatus (22 Sep 2026)
Finland - Energiatuki (Business Finland)Energy-efficiency and renewable investments; audits and surveys20% with agreement, 25% ESCO, 15% without; audits 40-50%Energy-efficiency investment EUR 10,000 to EUR 5,000,000OPEN, continuous (jatkuva haku)
Denmark - ErhvervspuljenEnergy savings and CO2 reduction: advisory services, installation components, labourUp to 60% (register) or 50% (Virksomhedsguiden); computed at DKK 1,000/t CO2 or 20 øre/kWhPool about DKK 3.5bn 2020-2029; not stated2026 round status unresolved. Confirm with Energistyrelsen
Denmark - SMV:DigitalAdvisory only. No technology, licences or implementation50%DKK 150,000 (DKK 50,000 for cyber, marketing, simple ERP)Next round 9-16 November 2026, DKK 15m
Sweden - KlimatklivetLocal climate investments under GBER Articles 36-41 and othersNot stated on the pages readDe minimis EUR 300,000 over 3 years noted2026 rounds closed. Next open round 22 Feb to 5 Mar 2027
Sweden - Energisteget / energikartläggningsstödFormerly energy surveys and efficiency investment--Pages 404. Presumed discontinued, not confirmed

Sources as dated in the status box. Danish amounts as published in DKK.

What could not be verified

Stated plainly, because a funding page that hides its gaps is worse than none:

  • Denmark, aid intensity. 60% on statens-tilskudspuljer.dk against 50% on Virksomhedsguiden. Both official. Unresolved.
  • Denmark, 2026 round. The register text is internally inconsistent and ens.dk could not be retrieved, so the 2026 calendar and whether the 2026 budget is exhausted are unconfirmed.
  • Sweden, Klimatklivet aid intensity. Not stated on any page read. No Swedish percentage is quoted on this page for that reason.
  • Sweden, Energisteget and energikartläggningsstöd. Both URLs 404. Presumed, not confirmed, discontinued.
  • Finland, eligible costs. The Energiatuki page does not itemise them, so monitoring hardware and software are not confirmed eligible on their own.

The sequence that works in all three

  1. State the saving in the unit the scheme pays inDenmark pays per kWh and per tonne. Finland's audit and investment tracks both rest on a quantified efficiency case. Write the number first and design the project to prove it.
  2. Check your agreement status in FinlandBeing inside the energiatehokkuussopimus, or structuring as an ESCO delivery, is worth 5 to 10 percentage points. That decision is worth more than most vendor discounts.
  3. Baseline for four to eight weeksRunning time, coded stops, good and rejected parts, and sub-metered consumption per line. Denmark's KPI filing and Finland's action plan both want production-normalised figures, not monthly invoices.
  4. In Sweden, plan for February 2027There is no live national route. Use the intervening months to build the measured case, then read the Klimatklivet rules before assuming an intensity, because none is published on the pages read.

These reference sites are published by TEEPTRAK SAS, which sells production-monitoring and OEE software. That is a commercial interest and it is stated once here. For a single line with one obvious loss, a sub-meter and a spreadsheet will answer the question at a fraction of the cost, and an ESCO partner may be a better counterparty than any vendor.

Free tool
Western Europe Funding & Tax-Credit Pack

One sheet per country with the rate, the caps and the status, an eligibility checklist, and a budget model that applies the cap for you. Excel, no macros.

Get the pack →

Questions

Is there a deadline for Finland's Energiatuki?
No. It runs as jatkuva haku, a continuous application, with no 2026 deadline on the Business Finland page updated 29 October 2025. Energy-efficiency investments between EUR 10,000 and EUR 5,000,000 are in scope, for companies of all sizes.
How much more is an energy-efficiency agreement worth in Finland?
Five percentage points against no agreement: 20% inside an energiatehokkuussopimus against 15% without. Delivering the same work through an ESCO service is 25%, so ten points. Audit support is 50% with an agreement and 40% without.
What aid intensity does Denmark's Erhvervspuljen pay?
Two official Danish sources disagree. The state grant register says up to 60% of eligible costs; Virksomhedsguiden says up to 50%. In both cases the grant is computed at DKK 1,000 per tonne of CO2 or 20 øre per kWh saved, with a 1.25 multiplier for fossil-fuel conversions. Confirm the current figure with Energistyrelsen.
Can SMV:Digital pay for monitoring software?
No. It funds advisory activity only, defined as analysis, preparation, planning or follow-up. Technology purchases, licences and implementation work are excluded. The next round runs 9 to 16 November 2026.
Is there anything open in Sweden right now?
Not for industrial digitalisation or energy monitoring. No live national scheme was findable from Energimyndigheten's own pages on 22 September 2026. Klimatklivet's 2026 open rounds are finished and the next is preliminarily 22 February to 5 March 2027.

Sources

  1. Business Finland - Energiatuki (page updated 29 October 2025)
  2. Energiavirasto - new energy-efficiency obligations, energiatehokkuuslaki 1372/2025
  3. statens-tilskudspuljer.dk - Erhvervspuljen, Energistyrelsen
  4. Virksomhedsguiden - Erhvervspuljen
  5. Virksomhedsguiden - SMV:Digital rådgivertilskud
  6. Retsinformation - Bekendtgørelse nr. 1138 of 18 September 2025 (Danish EnMS and energisyn duties)
  7. Naturvårdsverket - Klimatklivet application rounds (page updated 27 August 2026)
  8. Naturvårdsverket - rules for Klimatklivet (page updated 4 September 2026)
  9. Energimyndigheten - energikartläggning, laws and requirements (page updated 25 August 2026)

Published by TEEPTRAK SAS, which makes production-monitoring and OEE software. Every figure is sourced on the page. Funding rules, standards and reporting duties change: check the official documents before you budget or commit.